Distinguished Public Service Awards 

The Conference of Minority Public Administrators ~ Hampton Roads Chapter (COMPA~HR) Distinguished Public Service Award is presented each year to two people from the Hampton Roads region whose career and/or public service record best exemplifies  the values upon which the organization was founded. Nominations are accepted each year and the winners are formally recognized at a luncheon during the annual conference. Selections are based on the nominees’ outstanding achievements and/or contributions in the area of public service.



The award recipient must demonstrate:

  • A solid track record of distinguished public service by strengthening families and/or communities.
  • A commitment to the professionalism and sensitivity of public service that effects change in the community.
  • Dedicated leadership, creativity and integrity.


Nomination and Selection Process

Nominations for the Distinguished Public Service Award can be made by the members of general public, community leaders, agency professionals, or government officials who have been personally inspired by these leaders. Nominations are taken in July/August prior to the Annual Conference. 

Past Recipients

Mr. Charles C. Allen

Mrs. Claire Askew

Mr. George Austin

The Honorable Mamye E. Bacote

Dr. Willa S. Bazemore*

Mr. John Bell

Ms. Judy Braithwaite*

Ms. Mary J. Bullock

Dr. Billy Cannaday

Dr. Mary T. Christian

Mr. Enoch Copeland

Mr. Robert Copeland

Mr. George C. Crawley

The Honorable Flora D. Crittenden

Dr. Clarence Cuffee*

Ms. Selena Cuffee-Glenn

Ms. Gwendolyn S. Davis

Rev. Joseph Green, Jr.

Ms. Jerald T. Hickmann-Joyner

Ms. Lula Ersell Barrett Holland

*Dr. James Holley

Ms. Diana T. Hughes

Mr. Harvey Johnson

The Honorable Mamie E. Locke

The Honorable L. Louise Lucas

The Honorable Kenneth Melvin 

The Honorable William Moffett 

The Honorable Johnny E. Morrison

Mr. William P. Mitchell

The Honorable Eileen A. Olds

Mr. Larry Orie

Mr. V. Wayne Orton

Dr. Hugo Owens

The Honorable Jessie M. Rattley*

The Honorable B.J. Roberts

Mr. Donald T. Robertson 

The Honorable Robert C. Scott

The Honorable Sharon Scott

The Honorable Christine Snead

Dr. Turner Spencer

The Honorable Louisa Strayhorn

The Honorable Wilford Taylor, Jr.

Mr. Michael Townes

The Honorable George E. Wallace

Dr. William E. Ward

Mr. Raymond Washington

Dr. Harrison B. Wilson

Mr. Junius H. Williams, Jr.

Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management